Dublin GAA

Founded 1884

Co. Dublin

First half goals vital for masters in defeating Laois


Want to manage your club's membership online this year? We've seen revenue increase by 30%.

See More



Reigning All-Ireland Masters football champions, Dublin, opened their Championship account with a four-point victory over Laois in Stradbally on Saturday afternoon.

The Dubs built the platform for victory in the opening half as they held a 3-7 to 2-2 advantage at the break.

Dublin came out of the blocks impressively and actually led by 12-points, 3-4 to 0-1, at one stage of the opening half thanks to goals from Niall Crossan, Ray Cosgrove and Ciaran McGuinness.

However, Laois concluded the half on the up with two goals from Greg Ramsbottom.

Ramsbottom completed his hat-trick in the second half and the O'Moore County got within two points of the Dubs but the champions held on for victory.

SCORERS – Dublin: N Crossan 1-4 (0-2f), R Cosgrove (0-2f), C McGuinness (0-1) 1-2 each, C Doyle 0-2, J Morris 0-1. Laois: G Ramsbottom; 3-1, C Parkinson; 0-2, C Conway, K Fitzpatrick, B McEvoy, R O’Connell 0-1 each.

DUBLIN: John Murphy; Mick Coyne, Peadar Andrews, Felim Condron; Ian Clarke, Peter Finn, Gary O’Connell; James O’Connor, Ross Hainsworth; Cormac Smith, Ken Darcy, Craig Kilmurray; Ciarán McGuinness, Ray Cosgrove, Niall Crossan. Subs: Noel Peacock, David Spratt, Benny Gaughan, Ciarán Doyle, Damian Flanagan, Justin McGrane, Joe Morris, Paul Croft, Ritchie Herritty, Joey O’Rourke, Trevor Tansey.

LAOIS: Dan Nelligan; Dessie Brennan, Eamonn Delaney, PJ Rohan; Brian McEvoy, David Sweeney, Darren Finlay; Noel Garvan, John Kealy; Colm Parkinson, Kevin Fitzpatrick, Rory O’Connell; Derek O’Connell, Mark Rooney, Greg Ramsbottom. Subs: Denis Brennan, Mick Lawlor, Colin Miller, Shane Cooke, Mick O’Brien, Roghan Haeden, Liam O’Connor, Manus Dunne, Larry Keenan, Chris Conway, John Molloy.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play